Question: What is the Quality Matters Rubric?


The Quality Matters Higher Education Rubric, Fifth Edition, 2014 is a set of 8 General Standards and 43 Specific Review Standards used to evaluate the design of online and blended courses and it is centered on relevant research, and was initially developed based on a literature review of online learning and instructional design research, as well as the expertise of experienced online faculty, and existing standards and best practices for course design. Each of the Specific Rubric Standards is supported by research, and a new literature review is conducted periodically to guide and inform the revision of the QM Rubric.

The Eight General Standards on the Quality Matters Rubric are:

  • Course Overview and Introduction
  • Learning Objectives (Competencies)
  • Assessment and Measurement
  • Instructional Materials
  • Course Activities and Learner Interaction
  • Course Technology
  • Learner Support
  • Accessibility and Usability

Applying the Quality Matters Rubric (APPQMR) is QM's flagship workshop on the QM Rubric and its use in reviewing the design of online and blended courses. It is intended for a broad audience, including but not limited to faculty, instructional designers, administrators, and adjunct instructors who wish to understand more about the QM process.

Answered By: Gillian Sochor
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2018 Views: 1